A weekly photo challenge

I’ve decided to try something a little different on here. Inspired in part by the fantastic Weekly Limerick and Six Word Story challenges which I take part in as often as I can, I feel like it’s time to launch a weekly writing challenge of my own.

What I love about taking part in writing challenges like these is that they help to get me in a writing frame of mind, which makes it easier to get on with other writing projects.  And even better is the feedback and encouragement from fellow bloggers who are taking part. So here’s my idea: every Monday I will post a photo which I think is interesting, quirky or in some way writable-about, and I invite anyone who would like to, to use this as a prompt for a piece of creative writing. This can be whatever you like – I’m not sure how this is going to work so don’t want to start by being too prescriptive – so feel free to come up with a 100 word story, a haiku,  a limerick or a longer piece, wherever your imagination leads you! Post a link to your work in the comments, and I promise to read and give my feedback.

So without further ado, here’s my first photo:

Bold Street Liverpool 1947-2

Photo courtesy of @oldpicposter

And here’s my take on it.

Let me know what you think in the comments,  and if you’d like to share your own piece of writing in response to this photo prompt, I’d be thrilled to read it!

4 thoughts on “A weekly photo challenge

  1. Pingback: Postwar Woes – Becoming Unstuck

  2. What a great photo prompt! To whom should I be crediting the photo? I wouldn’t want to run into any copyright issues. 🙂
    Here’s my take on the prompt: detoutetderien2015.wordpress.com/2016/05/07/postwar-woes/

Leave a Reply

