Twittering Tales #77

 

blur-child-dress-758859

Photo by Min An at Pexels.com

 

She couldn’t make out the words, but the tension in their voices told her to stay hidden. Uncle Stephen would only shout at Mummy about her new party dress. Always complaining, he was. She strained her ears to listen, and her heart lurched as below, her mother began to cry.

(276 characters)

Written for Kat Myrman’s Twittering Tales Challenge – I’ve been meaning to get back into doing these for a while now, but I couldn’t resist this one. It’s a picture that hints at so many possibilities… but for me it perfectly sums up a scene in a longer story I’m writing currently. So how could I resist the opportunity to condense the hundreds of words I’ve already crossed out/ written, down to a single tweet?

9 thoughts on “Twittering Tales #77

  1. Pingback: Twittering Tales #78 – 3 April 2018 | like mercury colliding...

Leave a comment